PDF version


The Procurement Department is one of the departments in Students Welfare Authority (SWA) that deals with acquisition of goods services and works for SWA. It also deals with coordination of disposal of unserviceable, obsolete or surplus stores, assets and equipment. In order to carry out the above function the department is guided by the Public Procurement and Disposal Act, 2005 and the Regulations, 2006.


  1. Receiving and processing of requirements from user departments. The Departments are expected to provide a duly completed AIE form.
  2. Coordinating the preparation of the annual procurement plans  submitted by the respective SMU’s.
  3. Preparation and processing of quotations.
  4. Provision of secretariat services to all the statutory procurement and disposal committees.
  5. Ordering, follow-up and processing of goods delivery schedules to user departments and stores.
  6. Performance of market research and price survey on items and services required by the University.
  7. Maintenance of updated suppliers register and files for purposes of performance evaluation.

Procurement Staff:

Mr Joseph K Maiyo  - Ag. Deputy Procurement Manager

The procurement of goods, works and services amounting to less then Kshs.500, 000 is approved by the SWA Procurement Committee whereas; any procurement above Kshs.500, 000 is approved by the Tender Committee.

SWA Procurement Committee comprises of:-

 Mr Lugwe Robert FIH - Chairman

Mrs Owinga Judith D A - Member

Mr Mugo James M - Member

Cpa Ngari Peter M  - Member

Mr. Simeion Odera - Member

Dr. James Regina Mutave - Member

Prof. Paul Ndegwa – Member

Anna Muriungi - Member

Mr Joseph K Maiyo  - Secretary


SWA Disposal Committee:


All the disposal of unserviceable, obsolete or surplus stores, assets and equipment are coordinated and recommended by the SWA Disposal Committee.


The Committee Membership comprises of:-


Mrs Owinga Judith D A - Member


Mr Joseph K Maiyo  - Secretary


Mr Mugo James M - Co-opted member

Anna Muriungi - Co-opted member

Mr Thirikwa Joseph K - Co-opted member


Click to read DOC / PDF



UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2018. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi